Just wondering about actual speed,

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just wondering about actual speed,

I wonder how many actually know how fast they are going. Even with the correct gearing the speedos can be off quite a bit after all these years.
    Mine shows 43-45 at a GPS speed of 40 and 57 at a GPS of 50. [as long as I know I don't worry about it.]

Well, I know the speed I am traveling because I did adjust the gear ratio in the turtle to compensate for my smaller tires. I still need to adjust the speedo to get it a bit closer, but I'm just too damned lazy to pull the dash and adjust it until I have a real good reason to. And yes, I got the odometer as close as I cold with available gearing without getting too exotic with the gearing. I did need to build my own turtle so the smaller gear would match up with the worm, but then, I'm a machinist so that wasn't too hard to do. Now that I have tested it against the GPS it is just a matter of getting up off my lazy butt to finish the job, but it ain't my top priority right now.
    You wana look waaay far up da road and plan yer route because the brakes are far more of a suggestion than a command!

Comment

Take a look at the thread "And a Speedometer Question" started by WC Hall. If you have a round speedo, you can adjust the hair spring on top of the speed wheel to correct your MPH reading.
      Last edited by AL in NY; 02-11-2018, 03:20 PM.

Comment

i can tell you from experience it only takes a tiny tiny amount of adjustment of the hairspring to change the reading. I learned the hard way!

Comment

Mine was off in the tudor until I changed to 3.54 gears, and then it became correct. Just lucky I guess.
          Bill
          http://www.brauchauto.com/
          Eastern Connecticut

Comment