vibration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• vibration

I have a bad vibration when decelerating at about 40 mph or more. The car runs smooth otherwise. Any ideas? I just purchased the car and it has a rebuilt motor and a float a motor.

I have heard that it could be a bad universal joint but I have no personal experience.

Comment

I had the same thought, but it does not make any noise when shifting. I have had that happen in other cars. I greased the heck out of it just in case.

Comment

I have been in many A's that do the same thing including mine. decell only, it goes away on accel
        3~ Tudor's & 1~ Coupe
        Henry Ford said,
        "It's all nuts and bolts"
        "Start by doing what's necessary; then do what's possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible."

Mitch's Auto Service ctr

Comment

the float mounts can be subject to vibration. Miles insisted on them for his car, but soon removed the front due to vibration, and went back to the yoke mount, problem solved. He had been cautioned by other club members about this, but wanted to try it

Also, for either type mount, if your rear mount bolts are even a little loose, you will get decel vibration
          I had that happen to my '31 Deluxe Touring with OEM mounts
          Last edited by tbirdtbird; 02-02-2018, 11:08 AM.

Comment

Thanks I will check the bolts

Comment

I have OEM on my cars too.

arvon read this FAM thread especially MIke K's post #18 reply.. This is from the tech forum

FAM tech thread
              3~ Tudor's & 1~ Coupe
              Henry Ford said,
              "It's all nuts and bolts"
              "Start by doing what's necessary; then do what's possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible."

Mitch's Auto Service ctr

Comment

• BILL WILLIAMSON
                BILL WILLIAMSON commented
                Editing a comment
                Probably that flinky tail pipe hanger!!!
                Use a universal rubber strapped hanger.