Valve cover bolts- torque???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Valve cover bolts- torque???

Les' book says 20 ft. Pounds. Is that correct. Seems a little heavy for such small bolts.
    http://www.turnbophotography.com

I use a box wrench and common sense, so if the gasket is cork, the torque is less than a paper gasket. I've never measured my torque because common sense works better.

Comment

I agree Tom but as I'm new to the Model A better safe than sorry. Now if it was a 57' Chevy I'd have no question.

Comment

If I was going to put a torque spec on them it would be about 15lbs. But I "choke up" on a 3/8" ratchet and let my wrist set the tightness or I use a speed handle to tighten them.

Comment

It should be treated the same as a pan gasket.

i think were talking inch pounds here and not FT.

That’s another one for the error list
          3 ~ Tudor's
          Henry Ford said
          "It's all nuts and bolts"

Mitch's Auto Service ctr

Comment

It's page 134, table 1-5 "Valve chamber cover bolts"

Comment

Thanks Mickey
              I made a copy of your post on the errors thread, for when i finalize it
              3 ~ Tudor's
              Henry Ford said
              "It's all nuts and bolts"

Mitch's Auto Service ctr

Comment

Use a short handle box wrench, and just tighten the bolt. Ford did not use torque specs. There was a different wrench for each application, and the handle was sized to match how tight the fastener should be. That is why the rod nuts are 21/32". Special wrench for each job. Common sense is the key factor here.
                Bill
                http://www.brauchauto.com/
                Eastern Connecticut

Comment

Clean bolts, finger tight plus 1/4 turn. A slippery floor may cause over tightening.

Comment

Related Topics

Collapse

• tbirdtbird
                    Torque tables
                    by tbirdtbird
                    From time to time a discussion of Henry not having torque specs arises.