Glass fuel bowl with fuel pump

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glass fuel bowl with fuel pump

can you use the glass fuel bowl if you are using a fuel pump installed BEFORE the fuel bowl. Or do you install the pump after?

I have no experience with this on a model A but I would be concerned with pressure and leaking from the glass bowl. If the pump is before maybe a regulator placed before the bowl also could help. If the pump is after maybe it's not a issue. I had a '57 Olds with the pump before the glass bowl and it never leaked but the bowl was designed different.

Comment

Originally posted by Barber31 View Post
      I have no experience with this on a model A but I would be concerned with pressure and leaking from the glass bowl. If the pump is before maybe a regulator placed before the bowl also could help. If the pump is after maybe it's not a issue. I had a '57 Olds with the pump before the glass bowl and it never leaked but the bowl was designed different.
      Thanks Barber. That's what I was thinking too. I'm running a stromberg and want to install a low psi pump. Maybe 2lbs at carb . I'll try to regulate it before the fuel bowl and see what happens.

Comment

Most I have see are mounted between the fuel bowl and the Carb That seems to work OK

Comment

Originally posted by Barber31 View Post
          I prefer the CAST IRON sediment bowl, as the chances for leakages are "NIL". They do a REALLY good filtering job! Kits are CHEEP & water drain cock is a PLUS!
          Bill W.

Comment

Installing the pump AFTER the filter will ensure that the filter catches the crud before it gets to the pump.
            Alaskan A's
            Antique Auto Mushers of Alaska
            Model A Ford Club of America
            Model A Restorers Club
            Antique Automobile Club of America
            Mullins Owners Club

Comment

Related Topics

Collapse

• Beauford
              Wiring inline fuel pump and electronic fuel valve.