top wood

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• top wood

Has anyone ever tried filling the nail holes in the top wood and then successfully nailed the top material and molding down? I'm working on a 30 170B deluxe. I replaced the header but wonder about the rest of the top wood.

I'm surprised that no one has responded to this. I have no personal experience on this but I know there are products on the market that can be used to restore dried out and water softened wood. These are probably resin based and harden holding on to the wood fibers something like bondo on metal. However, I would also think that driving nails into the repaired wood may not hold because the overall composition has been changed. Try it on a small area and see what happens.....

Comment

I do it Brents way. just finished a coupe top last week. Had lots of nail holes.

Comment

I’ve only ever done the windshield screw holes. Similar to Brent's method, using popsicle sticks or other pieces of small wood.
        Jeff
        Twiss Collector Car Parts

Comment

FWIW:

A. If one has all kinds of wood fastening tack holes, screw holes, and bolt holes to fill for any type of wood work, here is one (1) hobby site where one can find inexpensive wood dowels for many different uses.

B. Wood dowels are also great to have in one's shop for the ancient art of strengthening new or patched wood joints.

C. Just Google: www.createforless.com and under Search, type in: wood dowels.

​​​​​​D. Scroll down further for inexpensive packs of 12" long dowels as small as 1/16" diameter on upwards to larger diameters.

E. For Model A wood roof or wood door work, never a bad idea to always use waterproof glue ..... especially on a Model A driven occasionally in the rain.

Comment

Thanks for the great ideas, I'll give them a try.

Comment