preservation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• preservation

I have a late Tudor that I would like to knock down the surface rust on. I'm not going to restore it for some time, so I just need to knock the surface rust down, without removing the original finishes (what's left). I then need to prevent the rusts return. this process would be similar to the preservation of a low mileage original. what process is used on the low mileage cars for surface rust removal, and what is used for preservation? I've heard Gibbs oil, anything else?
    http://jmodela.coffeecup.com

Jim I have no first hand knowledge on this. I do know of a guy who took an early fifties Pontiac that had a mix of some paint remaining and some surface rust, and waxed the entire car with car wax. The patina was awesome and the car was protected. In the process a lot of the fine surface rust was removed. Of course if any type of wax or oil is used, later it would have to be totally removed in order to get fresh paint to properly adhere.

Can you tell us what Gibbs oil is? Dave
    Last edited by tbirdtbird; 03-19-2018, 12:50 AM.

Comment

I was in the same position when I got my Town Sedan, the solution? I sanded it lightly and sprayed it with Rustoleum "Rusty Metal Primer" and Kept it covered with a plastic Tarp for two years. It seemed to stop the progression of the rust. Today, I would wash it with vinegar in addition to the paint.
      Terry

Comment

I'd probably just wipe it all over with an oil soaked rag. I used to buy GIBBS at threshing shows, but haven't found any for the past few years.

Speaking of threshing shows, the big Le Sueur, MN swap meet is the weekend after Brent's workshop. Usually find some Model A parts there.
        If I make it there, I'll be looking for some GIBBS again. April 27, 28, 29 and set up is late Thursday.

Comment

Doing a search resulted in >>>Gibbs, WD-40, Linseed oil, or a good wax that goes on clear....
          I found this video also